4 Stars for Lost in Love by A.M. Snead – #M/M

Lost in Love

Title: Lost in Love
Author Name: A.M. Snead
Publication Date & Length: June 28, 2014 – 417 pgs

Synopsis

A typical hike to a mountain cabin turns to much more for best friends Nate Westfall and Kyle Haney. Nate’s secret love for his ‘straight’ friend has been simmering for eight years, held down for fear of destroying their lifelong friendship. But when as Kyle gets drunk on Jack Daniels, he begins to ‘play’ with Nate in a way that Nate finds frustrating and difficult to resist. As Kyle pushes him over the edge and he can no longer hide his desire for the man, he begins to realize there is more to Kyle’s unusual behavior than meets the eye. Unexpected emotions boil over in the young man and for a brief moment it seems all of Nate’s dreams of being with Kyle are coming true – until he is dealt a blow to his heart that shatters their friendship, reducing it to irreparable pieces.

Add to GoodReads

Review

FourStars

The story about Nate, who is openly gay, and his ‘straight’ friend Kyle is a story filled with twists and turns. I saw some coming and others were surprising.
I related with Nate so much. He tried to do the right thing. He tried to ignore the feelings he had for Kyle because he didn’t want to lose the friendship they had. Kyle pushes and Nate gives in.
It’s so hard to say much about any of the characters without giving away the plot and some of the twists in the story. All in all I will say that the writing style was very good. I really enjoyed reading the book and got sucked into the drama that had me flipping pages like crazy to find out what was going to happen or how the situation was going to be resolved.
My only complaint is that I wish there had been a warning (or two or three) about some of the content in the book. There is numerous triggers that I felt should have been warned about or at least would have like to have been given a heads up. As I had a close relative commit suicide not so long ago and right in the beginning there is a seen that was extremely hard for me to get over. There are other situations that happen as well that made this book painful for me to read because of the reminders of things I’ve been through and dealt with. That is the reason for the lost of the star. I feel that strongly about it and the fact that I was brought to tears numerous times not just for the characters but for my own life.
There were a few naughty scenes that were incredibly sexy. I would love to read more from this author, especially a book not so trigger happy for me. On the other hand, I feel that someone without my past and the triggers that I have would thoroughly enjoy this book, even the moments when they are crying in pain for Nate and Kyle.
~Renee

BuyTheBook

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1njj3yR
Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1B8CbHN
Amazon CA: http://amzn.to/W0uEeA

SocialLinks

Author’s Website: http://theboyswelove.weebly.com/

Leave a Reply

