3.5 and 4 Stars for Underground: Special Teams by Sean Michael – #M/M Romance

Special Teams

Title: Underground: Special Teams
Author Name: Sean Michael
Publication Date & Length: September 17, 2014 – 213pgs

Synopsis

When Hunter Simms goes undercover at an underground BDSM party, the last thing he expects to see is SWAT’s leading shooter Keifer Magnessen bound, gagged, plugged and very bare. He is immediately drawn to Keifer, and wants to get to know his fellow cop better. Much better.With such a high stress job, Keifer needs to give up control on his down time in order to decompress, but it’s a secret he holds close to his vest. So, when Hunter walks into his chosen place to submit, he tries to cut and run. Lucky for him, Hunter is shrewd, persistent and quite possibly just the Dom that Keifer needs.Can these two strong men find a way to make their personal lives mesh?

Add to GoodReads

Review

ThreeandHalfStars

Keif and Hunter are quite a pair. Both are in need of companionship, both are perfect for each other.
This book was not as edgy as I was expecting, but still a great read. I enjoyed the relationship portrayed between the Dom (Hunt) and Sub (Keif). I liked that Hunt had to work to earn Keif’s trust.

Keif is a troubled guy, but not in the way that most Subs are described. Keif is someone who wants to be told what to do, but needs a Dom who is as strong physically and strong willed, mentally as himself.

Hunt is a man who is willing to work to earn the trust of his new sub. He wants so badly to have Keif trust him with his mind – Hunt goes to great lengths to show Keif what a proper Dom is supposed to be like – how cared for Keif is by Hunt.

The book fell a little flat for me because it began as Hunter going under cover to try to find a crime ring who was holding people hostage and using them as sex slaves. However, the story line fell off somewhere and became mostly about the relationship between Keif and Hunt. Then, sometime in the middle of the story, the author threw in a twist of a ring of people who somehow found Keif, a sniper and what ensured when they found him. Maybe I was just confused and the author meant that they were one in the same, but that is not what I read or how I perceived the story. Also, there is an issue with the formatting on both the Kindle app and the Kindle itself.

AvidReader

FourStars

4 Stars

I absolutely loved the fact that the two men in this story are hard, rough tough guys, but they find exactly what they need in each other…even if it isn’t completely easy and they sometimes have to physically struggle to show who is Dom and who is sub.
I loved the authors style of writing, it flowed well and it was easy to get sucked into the story. I did have issues with the numerous name errors especially when it is the main character suddenly called by a different name for one page of the book (Hunt is called Herb). The cases are a bit odd as we started on a sting operation, move to payback from another one.
All in all not a bad book, would have really loved it had it been better edited. This was my first book by this author, but I think I would pick up another book from them.
Renee

BuyTheBook

Amazon:  http://amzn.to/1qSLnbj
Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1sMbmsH
Amazon CA: http://amzn.to/1uaA98f
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1vsGGtw

Teaser

SpecialTeams600x600Banner

AuthorBio

Often referred to as “Space Cowboy” and “Gangsta of Love” while still striving for the moniker of “Maurice,” Sean Michael spends his days surfing, smutting, organizing his immense gourd collection and fantasizing about one day retiring on a small secluded island peopled entirely by horseshoe crabs. While collecting vast amounts of vintage gay pulp novels and mood rings, Sean whiles away the hours between dropping the f-bomb and persuing the kama sutra by channeling the long lost spirit of John Wayne and singing along with the soundtrack to “Chicago.”A long-time writer of complicated haiku, currently Sean is attempting to learn the advanced arts of plate spinning and soap carving sex toys.Barring any of that? He’ll stick with writing his stories, thanks, and rubbing pretty bodies together to see if they spark.
AuthorInterview
  • Can you describe in detail what your writing environment is like?

Messy. My desk has my computer on it, pens all over the place, bits of paper with notes, reminders, ideas, and a very lopsided pile of ‘things to deal with’. Every now and then I clean it (usually when I’m procrastinating) but it never stays neat for long.

  • Is there one of your characters that you relate to (from any of your works)? Why?

From Underground: Special Teams? I’d say I relate more to Hunter than to Keifer. Hunter isn’t quite as… focused and single minded as Keifer is.

  • If you couldn’t be an author, what would you do instead?

Go to outer space – I always wanted to be an astronaut and I still do.

  • Is there anything that you learned during the writing process that you wish you had known before hand?

I didn’t always write linearly. After I had to put together a few books and write new stuff for where I’d skipped ahead (or back) I learned that it made more sense for me to write from the start to the finish. Sometimes I still have to add stuff as I go through a completed first draft, but if I’ve made the effort to write the story linearly, it’s much easier to get ready for submission.

  • Is there anything that you wish you could change about your book now that it is out?

I try not to do that. That way lies madness.

  • How do you come up with new ideas for your story?

There are stories all around – very often I’ll see someone or a situation and in the back of my head I might go, what’s his story, or what if he… Then the characters introduce themselves to me and insist I write down their tale.

  • What’s next for you as a writer?

I’m always working on several books at once, so there’s always something on the go. And I write every day, so even when I finish one book, there’s another waiting to take its place.

  • Where do you live? Do you think this influences how or what you write?

I live in Canada so a number of my books are set there instead of in the US, but on the whole, I don’t think it really does.

  • What is your favorite genre outside of the one you write in? Why?

I’m a big sci-fi fan, and my favorite within that is post-apocalyptic fiction.

  • Do you have any vices? Shoes, coffee, shopping…etc?

I watch too much TV and I love to eat.

SocialLinks

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SeanMichaelWrites
Author’s Website: http://www.seanmichaelwrites.com/
Author’s GoodRead Page: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/452671.Sean_Michael

Leave a Reply

