3.5 stars for Valkyrie: Return of the Asgard by Erik Schubach @ErikSchubach #FF #Scifi

Valkyrie Chronicles - Return of the Asgard - Cover

Title: Valkyrie: Return of the Asgard
Author Name: Erik Schubach
Publication Date & Length: July 14, 2013 — 224 pgs

Synopsis

The Valkyrie Kara stood alone against the Ragnarok horde on Earth to ensure that the Asgard race and Valhalla could escape. For five thousand years she has fought and evaded the Ragnarok race on Earth, just waiting for her people to return.

A human woman, Kate, joins her fight against the invading race, showing as much conviction and valor as any Valkyrie. Their friendship quickly becomes something more as they hold the line on Earth in battle to herald the return of the Asgard.

Add to GoodReads

AuthorInterview

  • Can you describe in detail what your writing environment is like?

My work environment is pretty simple. I just have a computer desk in my bedroom. I have a daylight light shining down on my desktop, that is supposed to be healthy for you. I like to say that my morning commute consists of sitting up in bead, yawning, stretching, then taking three steps to sit at my computer. The desktop is cluttered with notes and various electronic gadgets.

  • Is there one of your characters that you relate to (from any of your works)? Why?

I feel I relate to every character I write, but one in particular, Kylee from Syncopated Rhythm I feel I relate to the most since a lot of her personality and things she does in the book are straight from my life.

  • If you couldn’t be an author, what would you do instead?

Well since I can’t be an astronaut or a unicorn wrangler, I’d say a curator at a vintage tech museum.

  • Is there anything that you learned during the writing process that you wish you had known before hand?

I wish I had known how easy it is to publish. The only thing that stopped me from writing before was the daunting task of getting a book published. It seemed so daunting. But when I actually sat down to attempt it, I followed the rabbit down the hole. It was a little confusing at first glance, but after I published my first title and looked back on things, it was so easy. Now I just see the publishing process as just the last step of writing, no more difficult than remembering to save my document as I write.

  • Is there anything that you wish you could change about your book now that it is out?

There are always things that I want to change about my books after I publish them. However I have learned that I will never be satisfied with my stories, and that if I kept tweaking them until they were “perfect” I’d never release a single book.

For the Valkyrie Chronicles: Return of the Asgard, the one thing that bothers me about the book was how quickly Kate accepted that Kara was a Valkyries and how quickly they were drawn together. I wish I had drawn that out another chapter or two but I was so lost in world building that I wasn’t sure how much I needed to put into that part.

  • How do you come up with new ideas for your story?

I’m always thinking about things and I love asking “What if?”. Whenever I learn an interesting fact about myths and legends, I like to ask that question. What if the Asgard race were not gods, but just an advanced civilization?

For my romance stories in the Music of the Soul series, I like to start with miscommunication since that is always the downfall of any relationship. I like to toy with what people view as weaknesses or disabilities and turn those into my character’s greatest strengths. The overall message I convey with that series is that your scars make you beautiful.

  • What’s next for you as a writer?

I unfortunately have over thirty stories planned out in my head, seriously. So for the foreseeable future I will be trying to bring those stories to life.

I will also be actively perusing releasing my stories in as many formats as possible, to target different segments of the reading populace. I am currently working on having all of my books produced as audiobooks and even having comic book adaptations of some of my SciFi and Paranormal books produced.

  • Where do you live? Do you think this influences how or what you write?

I live inside of a State Park near Spokane, Washington. Besides the proximity to Seattle (a 4 hour drive), where most of my books take place, it doesn’t really affect my stories.

  • What is your favorite genre outside of the one you write in? Why?

Hmmm… I’d have to say steampunk. It is such a targeted audience and the rules to what separates steampunk from normal scifi are nebulous but somehow concrete at the same time. I really enjoy the alternate progression of science and engineering in the genre. Besides, who doesn’t like an armor clad dirigible or two in a book?

  • Do you have any vices? Shoes, coffee, shopping…etc?

Pepsi, chocolate eclairs, all things platypus, saying ain’t… all kinds of fun!

Review

ThreeandHalfStars

I loved this book. It was a great mix of sci-fi and the real world. I’ll admit, I did expect it to be a bit heavier into the sci-fi when I picked it up, but I wasn’t disappointed. The plot stole the show and took the book to great heights. From the beginning to the end, this book held my interest. If I was rating this book on plot and story line alone, it would be 4.5 stars. It loses half a star for being rough in the beginning. There’s a lot of information happening very quickly and feels quite like an information dump for a few chapters.

The characters in this novel really do come to life, and their romance is invigorating and enticing. I also thought it was interesting how such a sexually free people are not into touching. It’s seems the opposite of what one would think. There is no question of multiple partners, same sex relationships, or sex for fun, yet the culture itself demands they are reserved to the point of not touching beyond hands and forearms. It’s an interesting dynamic that I’m still processing.

However, I struggled with reading it. This book should not have taken me long, but I had to keep putting it down because of the lack of editing. Each sentence had grammatical errors in it, including switches between present and past tense almost constantly. It was difficult to push through the bad editing to the story. I really wish the editing was better because this might just hit close to the top of list of favorite books.

I look forward to reading more from this author and to see any improvements he has in future novels. I recommend this book for anyone who has a love of sci-fi, mythology, and legends of our history.

3.5 stars

~AJ

BuyTheBook

Amazon
Amazon UK
Amazon CA
Barnes & Noble
Kobo

AuthorBio

I got my start writing romance novels by accident. I have always been drawn to strong female characters in books, like Honor Harrington. And I also believe that there is a lack of LGBT characters in media. So one day I came up with a story idea that combines the two… two days later I completed the manuscript for Music of the Soul.

My writing style may not be the most professional nor grammatically correct, but I never profess to be an English major, just a person that wants to share a story. I maintain that my primary language is sarcasm.

Each of my books features strong likeable female characters that are flawed. I think that flaws and emotional or physical scars make us human and give us more character than simply conforming to some “social norm”.

I have also started a SciFi series, The Valkyrie Chronicles which features a Valkyrie, Kara, who was left behind on Earth five thousand years ago to help the Asgard race escape the onslaught of the Ragnarok horde. With the aid of a human, Kate, she holds the line in battle to herald the return of the Asgard!

If you like magic, paranormal romance and witches, then my new series Fracture might tickle your fancy. In the first book Fracture: Divergence, Alex King must stop magic from destroying reality. The problem is that Alex must solve the case in parallel universes where in one Alex is male and female in the other.

SocialLinks

Facebook
Twitter
Author’s Website
Author’s GoodRead Page

 

Leave a Reply

