4.5 and 4 Stars for Seduction in Red by D.T. Peterson – #MM #Romance

Seduction in Red

Title: Seduction in Red
Author Name: D.T. Peterson
Publication Date & Length: September 23, 2014 – 192pgs

Synopsis

Trevor is young, rich and single; completely open about who he is and unwilling to hide it from anyone. Cody is shy and inexperienced, exploring the desires he secretly craves to fulfill for the first time. Together, they venture down a path neither of them could have ever imagined…

Add to GoodReads

Review

FourandHalfStars

I really enjoyed this story. The characters were well developed with complicated backgrounds that enhanced the story. Trevor was a great boyfriend. He was attentive, loving, sweet and loyal. Cody was naive, confused, curious, loving, and also loyal.
It was a little hard at first, because Trevor and Cody immediately started their relationship. While I do understand that they had an instant connection, with all of the issues that Cody was having, I found it a little hard to believe how patient Trent was with all that Cody had to work through. However, Peterson was able to over come that easily, for me, by having a great dialogue between the lovers, as well as within Cody’s head.
The family dynamic for Cody and Trent, while sad, was much more realistic. Both come from families that have no idea what it means to love unconditionally. It was nice to watch Cody become the person he always knew he was; even more endearing to watch Trent foster Cody without judgment, without rushing him. Sue was another character that I grew to really appreciate in the story. While it was necessary in the beginning for her to be hurt, in the end, I really liked how she chose to stay a part of Cody’s family. On that note, I do wish there was a little more development with Cody’s brother, Nick.
There was a huge twist, for me, in the story line. I was not expecting it at all. I liked that Peterson was able to catch me off guard. It made the book that much more enjoyable.
This was a great story. The only thing is that there needs to be more editing. There were several instances where words were misspelled, character names were incorrect during dialogue or misuse/using the wrong their, there or they’re. While I was able to figure out what the author was trying to convey, it did take away from the story.
~AvidReader
FourStars

The first 3/4 of the book was about the relationship between Trevor and Cody. Cody not out yet, but Trevor feeling confident in who he is.  The author covers them meeting and going through many roadblocks in becoming a couple.  The story flowed easily and was a fast  read.  I really came to like Cody in the story with all his struggles, and felt awful at how his family treated him. Trevor on the other hand was very confident and sure of himself which played well in their developing relationship.
I truly did not expect the turn the book took. I was shocked at how they were treated and what happened to them.  I was impressed with the way the author wrote that part of the storyline.
The only thing I didn’t  like was the author would be talking about something that they were going to do and the next sentence the story had moved onto something else.  It left a couple of holes in the story.
But overall I thought this book was well written with a excellent storyline.
~Sherry
Teaser
 SIR600x600Banner

BuyTheBook

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1xb2Kd2
Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1toXZc7
Amazon CA: http://amzn.to/1pT5INH

AuthorBio

D.t. Peterson lives in the suburbs of Philadelphia. He enjoys traveling, and being outdoors. His hobbies include canoeing, hiking, whitewater rafting, and furniture making. His debut novel was The Cove.

AuthorInterview

1. What’s your writing process and how do you think it’s unique to you?
Sometimes a story line, or a plot calls to me. It’s usually the ending I have in mind when I start out to write, the emotions I want it to elicit, the purpose of the book. I have a few key scenes stuck in my head, the rough idea of where and how it should progress.

2. Do you think its good to read books in the genre you’re writing? Why or why not?

I tend not to read other works in the genre, I don’t want my writing style to be influenced by what others have written. I want it to be uniquely mine.

3. What’s your experience with the LGBT et al readership community?

My experiences with the LGBT readers has been fantastic! I have made numerous friends, and everyone is beyond helpful.

4. What’s your number 1 writing goal when you sit down to start a new piece?

Foremost, when i begin to write a new work, I want it to be unique and profound. I want the story to convey a message, to express emotions, the conditions by which we live and how it shape our lives.

5. What sets your book apart from other books in its genre? Why should we pick up your book instead of another?

Everyone talks about genre, and every book has its audience. But I don’t consider it when I write, rather i concentrate on plot, the reasons why the characters lives become intertwined. I want my books to go beyond the stereotypes and portray life as it is. I want the readers to walk away thinking.

Leave a Reply

