5 Stars for The Half of Us by Cardeno C. – #MM #Romance @CardenoC

The Half of Us

Title: The Half of Us (Family #4)
Author Name: Cardeno C.
Publication Date & Length: October 10, 2014 – 206pgs

Synopsis

Short-tempered, arrogant heart surgeon Jason Garcia grew up wanting a close-knit family, but believes he ruined those dreams when he broke up his marriage. The benefit of divorce is having as much random sex as he wants, and it’s a benefit Jason is exploiting when he meets a sweet, shy man at a bar and convinces him to go home for a no-strings-attached night of fun.

Eight years living in Las Vegas hasn’t dimmed Abe Green’s optimism, earnestness, or desire to find the one. When a sexy man with lonely eyes propositions him, Abe decides to give himself a birthday present—one night of spontaneous fun with no thoughts of the future. But one night turns into two and then three, and Abe realizes his heart is involved.

For the first time, Abe feels safe enough with someone he respects and adores to let go of his inhibitions in the bedroom. If Jason can get past his own inhibitions and open his heart and his life to Abe, he might finally find the family he craves.

Add to GoodReads

Review

FiveStars

I really, really enjoyed this story. While I did think that it lacked a little in terms of details, overall, it was a complete story.
Abe and Jason are great together. Their chemistry is both steamy and loving. They have a great dynamic and Cardeno really grows their relationship. What starts out as a random meeting, turns in to a great story of self-discovery and love.
Jason seems to have a lot of issues with relationships, Abe wants to be in a relationship. Despite their different approaches, Abe really helps Jason feel loved, worthy of love and helps foster a growing relationship between Jason and his family. In return, Jason allows Abe to be the sexual creature he’s always fantasized about. Their sex is both steamy, hot, sensual and gentle.
I also really enjoyed Jason’s family. Donny, Angela and Kristen are great additions and really help lay the groundwork for the rest of the story. I found that their interactions were realistic and helped the reader understand the psychological barriers that Jason had to overcome. I enjoyed that Abe was able to have a relationship with Kristen outside of Jason and that despite them not knowing about each other, everyone was able to mesh really well.
Despite wanting a little more about Donny, I thought that even with the little snippet of his issues, it really helped the story come to conclusion. The family dynamic was a great addition as well. All of the twists and turns in this story – in the end, it was about finding love, holding on to family and being there for each other.

AvidReader

BuyTheBook

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1xvOEDp

Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1uIoBJy

Amazon CA: http://amzn.to/ZSMqTz

ARe: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-thehalfofus-1640320-149.html??referrer=53b5ae9a0c134

Paperback: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=5512

AuthorInterview

1) What motivated you to start writing?
CC: One of the reasons I began writing was to do something creative and different from my day job. I also wanted to share happy, uplifting stories. I’d never considered being a fiction writer until about the time I sat down and wrote my first story, which was Where He Ends and I Begin. I hadn’t read romance novels at that point and I had no idea there were gay romance novels out there. What drove me to write was a sense that so many movies and shows I saw had gay characters who were killed or hurt or deeply miserable and after seeing this over and over again, I started feeling like it was a punishment, like these people weren’t allowed to be happy and healthy and strong AND gay. And I’m talking about movies where the gay characters are the main characters, movies targeted toward a gay/welcoming audience. That vision of life doesn’t match what I see in the world around me.

Yes, there are tragedies and sadness and family trouble. I know. Those things are real and true. But my life experience is that people as a whole are resilient and strong. I see people move past the hard times and make their own happy futures. I see people learn and grow and build lives and communities and families around them. I see people who use their experience and wisdom to make choices that allow them to live the kinds of lives they want on their terms and to be satisfied and happy with those lives. That’s my reality and I wanted to share it.
2) Who or what is your biggest inspiration for writing? 
CC: It’s so hard to pinpoint inspiration. When I’m ready to write a book, I think about the characters until they’re real in my head. Although my characters are fictional, there are often anecdotes or characteristics or incidents that are based on my life, friends’ lives, or news articles.
3) What is your writing environment? (Where do you write, what do you do to prepare right before you start writing)

CC: I write at home, either in my living room on my sofa or in my bed with pillows propping me and my laptop up. I always have a 44 ounce cup of iced tea at my side and often I have a Diet Coke or iced coffee too. I write whenever I can squeeze in any time.

4) What is the hardest part of a book for you? Any particular scene(s)?
CC: For me the hardest thing has always been time. Writing requires concentration, energy, and a clear headspace. Life is busy so finding the time to sit down and get my head filled with my characters for long enough to write their stories is an ongoing challenge for me. As far as certain scenes, I prefer to write happy, loving scenes so those come most easily.

5) If you only could write in one genre, what would it be? And if you couldn’t write in that genre what genre would you pick next?

CC: I write exclusively gay romance. This genre inspired me to write because of my desire to share happy, uplifting stories to give hope in an area where I felt it was needed. I’ve never had an urge to write in another genre.

6) If you could spend a day with one author, who would it be and why?
CC: I think it’d be interesting to spend the day with David Sedaris although I have to admit, I’d be a little nervous about what could happen. Hopefully the nerves would counteract the anxiety from being in the presence of such a talented writer.

7) What do you like to see in book reviews? What makes a review better than other ones to you?
CC: I think different people appreciate different types of reviews. For me as a reader, I like knowing general things about a book so I know whether it’ll appeal to me but not having spoilers that ruin the reading experience. For example, if I’m looking for a light, sweet read, I like a review to tell me it’s that kind of book.
8) If you could give one tip to new writers, what would it be? 
CC: I suppose the first and most important tip of writing is to keep writing. There are lots of things that can distract us or bring us down, but if we want to write, we have to push them aside and keep going. No matter what.

9) How do you make hard decisions with your books? Like the title of the book or some of the characters actions? 

CC: I want my characters to be true to who they are. That means I need to know who they are before I write the first word of a book. After that, it’s a matter of making sure that everything they do and say works with them and for them. It doesn’t matter if it isn’t the best way or my way; if it’s consistent with the character, it’s the right way. My book titles are often inspired by song lyrics that, in my head at least, correlate to the book.

10) If you could only use 4 words to describe yourself, what would they be?

CC: Four words…. Hmm. In no particular order, I’d say: happy, lucky, hard-working, and busy. J

AuthorBio

Cardeno C. – CC to friends – is a hopeless romantic who wants to add a lot of happiness and a few “awwws” into a reader’s day. Writing is a nice break from real life as a corporate type and volunteer work with gay rights organizations. Cardeno’s stories range from sweet to intense, contemporary to paranormal, long to short, but they always include strong relationships and walks into the happily-ever-after sunset.

Heartwarming Stories. Strong Relationships. Forever Love.

SocialLinks

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/CardenoC
Twitter: @CardenoC
Author’s Website: www.cardenoc.com
Author’s GoodRead Page: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4620386.Cardeno_C_
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcd9agMh5c_HQEPP9_CEhSA/feed
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/cardenoC/

Leave a Reply

