4 Stars for The Marine by John Simpson and Robert Cummings – #MM Romance #Erotica #Military

The Marine

Title: The Marine
Author Name: John Simpson & Robert Cummings
Publication Date & Length: September 20, 2014 – 100pgs

Synopsis

Two young men, David Stauffer and Matthew Kendricks, meet while processing into the Marine Corps for Basic Training. David is immediately attracted to the red haired, Matthew. As their training begins, David pursues Matthew to find out if the attraction is mutual. To his great pleasure, David learns that his attentions are not unwelcomed, but rather feared. Matthew, unlike David isn’t as comfortable with his fellow trainees finding out he’s gay.
As training progresses David proves himself to be superior to the other trainees. As a reward, he is given a short, on post leave and is allowed to take Matthew with him. This allows them a chance to explore each other’s bodies, rather than just glimpses in the showers.
From that moment the spark between the two burns hot and sets the stage for what is to come. When training ends, questions about their futures arise. Both men are forced to make decisions that will impact their futures, and potentially out them to the entire Marine Corps.

Add to GoodReads

Review

FourStars

This story starts out with two perspectives. David is caught in a world of violence and hatred, Matthew is surrounded by family. However, each of these men only know a skewed version of family. David has been on his own for a while, despite living with his father and Matthew is fulfilling a familial obligation.
Simpson did an okay job developing the relationship between David and Matthew. It is after DADT is lifted, but they both realize that the culture is slow to catch up.  I really enjoyed their boot camp experience – it was refreshing that the higher ups were tough, but also progressive. Despite having a bully in their class, both David and Matthew develop a strong bond – a respect for each other and in turn, a respect for the Marines.
I really enjoyed that all of the commanding officers that David and Matthew served under were behind the couple. They supported them and then when new commanding officers were skeptical, stood up for them again. I also liked that David and Matthew were respectful of their fellow marines and tried very hard not to “flaunt” their relationship, but did not let prejudice hinder their relationship either. They became men throughout their relationship.
There was one section in chapter 10 that I believe needs to be edited further. There is a mix up in characters – I had to go back and read a few times to see who the author was talking about. Overall, this was a quick, easy read and I enjoyed it.
AvidReader

BuyTheBook

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1zfoSrB
Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1rj2VOo
Amazon CA: http://amzn.to/1wjkbcM
Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1rj2YK4

AuthorInterview

  • What motivated you to start writing?
    • John Simpson had contacted me after I came home from Iraq. He wanted me to assist him in a police story and he ended up asking me to join him on the series. I keep writing because I love creating worlds and populating them with interesting characters and scenarios.

 

  • Who or what is your biggest inspiration for writing?
    • My lengthy law enforcement career and time in Iraq undoubtedly flavor all of my stories. Not to mention really, really bad choices in dating.

 

 

  • What is your writing environment? (Where do you write, what do you do to prepare right before you start writing)
    • I like to write secluded from any background noise or distractions. I have a room in my house that I sit in my Grandfather’s recliner and close the door to block out the rest of the world. My dog Boo usually curls up next to me and keeps me company.

 

  • What is the hardest part of a book for you? Any particular scene(s)?
    • When it comes to interpersonal relationships I have a hard time writing the more intimate scenarios. I’ve always been a close to the vest type of person but I’m trying to improve that.

 

 

  • If you only could write in one genre, what would it be? And if you couldn’t write in that genre what genre would you pick next?
    • I like to stick with what I know: Police and Military but if I couldn’t write in that genre I would probably do science-fiction.

 

  • If you could spend a day with one author, who would it be and why?
    • I have two answers for this question: Mark Twain because of his colorful personality and Harry Turtledove to pick his brain on alternate history writing.

 

 

  • What do you like to see in book reviews? What makes a review better than other ones to you?
    • I prefer to see both sides of the coin; good and bad. I need to know what people love about the writing so I can continue to incorporate those things in my writing. I also need to know what doesn’t work so I can avoid any serious mistakes in the future.

 

  • If you could give one tip to new writers, what would it be?
    • Write what you know.
  • How do you make hard decisions with your books? Like the title of the book or some of the characters actions?
    • Honestly it’s whatever idea strikes me as I finish the story. I like to be playful with the titles.
  • If you could only use 4 words to describe yourself, what would they be?
    • Adventurous, open minded, naïve and loyal.

Teaser

Marine600x600Banner

Excerpt

David and Matthew were drawn to each other like magnets. This was one of the few times they could lay on top of each other without anyone commenting on it. The tight green shirt pressed against David’s lean chest, Matthew licked his lips as they squared off to attack.

“You go first,” Matthew insisted.

David charged at Matthew full speed, the boy attempted to grab David’s wrist but was unsuccessful. David did not want to humiliate the Matthew in front of anyone so he stopped and backed up. He laid his hand on top of Matthew’s and placed the clammy hand where it needed to be for a successful hip throw.

Matthews’s shorts began to bulge out in the front, “Flip me.”

“You didn’t do yours yet,” David said confused.

“Flip me now, I’m getting hard,” Matthew whispered into David’s ear.

David smiled and grabbed the red head’s wrist. He flipped him onto the mat and leaned down to help him up. David pulled Matthew up.  While he dusted his back off he slightly brushed his hand against Matthews tight little bubble butt.

“You’re not helping,” Matthew protested.

A drill instructor came over to them, “What in the ever loving world are you two doing? I better see more flipping and less jawing, do you get me!”

“Sir, Yes Sir!” they replied in unison.

AuthorBio

John Simpson:

John Simpson, a Vietnam-era Veteran, has been a uniformed Police Officer of the Year, a federal agent, a federal magistrate, and an armed bodyguard to royalty and a senior government executive. He earned awards from the Vice President of the United States and the Secretary of the Treasury. John has written articles for various gay and straight magazines. John lives with his partner of 35 years and three wonderful Scott Terriers, all spoiled and a breed of canine family member that is unique in dogdom. John is also involved with the Old Catholic Church and its liberal pastoral positions on the gay community.

Robert Cummings:

Robert Cummings lives in Pennsylvania with his partner and their black lab mix dog. Robert is an Iraqi freedom veteran with a seventeen-year law enforcement career. He enjoys the outdoors, family, and travel.

SocialLinks

John Simpson:

Email: Johnsimpsonbooks@hotmail.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/johnsimpsonbooks
Author’s Website: http://www.johnsimpsonbooks.com/

Robert Cummings:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/robert.cummings.330
Email: robert.cummings1976@gmail.com

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

