4 Stars for The Bridge: Trolls by Erik Schubach – @ErikSchubach #FF #Urban Fantasy

The Bridge:Trolls

Title: The Bridge: Trolls (The Bridge #1)
Author Name: Erik Schubach
Publication Date & Length: September 20, 2014 – 156pgs

Synopsis

Evangeline Kane is thrust into a world and a role she never asked for. She finds herself questioning her sanity as she finds herself bound to a bridge as its Troll when the previous champion died in her arms.

The gateway from the Under-Veil to the city of Cincinnati lies unprotected, open to malicious fae intent on chaos and corruption of the mortals that dwell in it, if she does not stand against them.

Add to GoodReads

Review

FourStars

This book was riveting. I started it at six this morning and finished just after noon. The characters in this book really come to live, and Evangeline Kane is certainly a character to be reckoned with. She snotty, smart, sassy and quick thinking. I loved her humor, probably because it’s so similar to mine. The world Schubach has created in this new series is one very interesting. I’m left with so many questions after just the introduction to it, and I’m not sure those questions can be answered without about five or six more books in the series.

This is a fast-paced novel, which suits me very well. There was only one time where I could really tell the book was written by a man, and that was when Kane was in the shower and there was blood—my mind went someone other than to her nose which happened to be bleeding. Which would have added a lot of humor had the novel gone where I thought it was going.

I’ve read a few books by Schubach at this point, and his writing is certainly improving. There is still a strong need for a copy-editor to go through the work, as there are typos littering the document. At least this one mostly stayed in one tense, meaning it wasn’t switching every sentence but at least two or three times in each chapter.

If you’re look for a world that is original, interesting and in depth with a touch of romance—as always—on the side, then this is definitely a book and soon to be series for you.

4 stars

~AJ

BuyTheBook

Amazon
Amazon UK
Amazon CA
Barnes & Noble
Kobo

AuthorBio

I got my start writing romance novels by accident. I have always been drawn to strong female characters in books, like Honor Harrington. And I also believe that there is a lack of LGBT characters in media. So one day I came up with a story idea that combines the two… two days later I completed the manuscript for Music of the Soul.

My writing style may not be the most professional nor grammatically correct, but I never profess to be an English major, just a person that wants to share a story. I maintain that my primary language is sarcasm.

Each of my books features strong likeable female characters that are flawed. I think that flaws and emotional or physical scars make us human and give us more character than simply conforming to some “social norm”.

I have also started a SciFi series, The Valkyrie Chronicles which features a Valkyrie, Kara, who was left behind on Earth five thousand years ago to help the Asgard race escape the onslaught of the Ragnarok horde. With the aid of a human, Kate, she holds the line in battle to herald the return of the Asgard!

If you like magic, paranormal romance and witches, then my new series Fracture might tickle your fancy. In the first book Fracture: Divergence, Alex King must stop magic from destroying reality. The problem is that Alex must solve the case in parallel universes where in one Alex is male and female in the other.

SocialLinks

Facebook
Twitter
Author’s Website
Author’s GoodRead Page

Leave a Reply

