The Alpha King by Vicktor Alexander Spotlight – #MM Romance #Paranormal #BDSM #AuthorInterview @VVeeB

The Alpha King Cover Photo

Title: The Alpha King (Passion Hero #1)
Author Name: Vicktor Alexander
Publication Date & Length: November 30, 2014 – 285 pgs

Synopsis

Centuries after the destruction of Earth, destiny is being fulfilled and plans are in motion to restore not only the Earth, but mankind, to its former glory. One family is fated to bring about this amazing destiny. One man puts it all in motion, the day he crashes onto the wolf-planet of Tumaro and meets his mate.

Talon Versuthion always knew that some kind of way, life was going to screw him over. His parents died when he was just a boy and he can’t remember a thing about them. He was adopted by a great family only to have them tell him that he is a Vermithian, one of the most despised humanoid species. Even worse than that? He has no idea that a prophecy was made about his family, one that mentions that someone from the Versuthion family will bring back a pure human race. And there are people out there who will stop at nothing to make sure that never happens. No matter what.

While on a delivery for the GPA with his adopted sister Josie, however, Tal’s space shuttle crashes onto Tumaro, the notorious wolf-shifter planet. Tal is lucky to be alive, though Josie can’t be found. He is desperate to find her, but destiny steps in and history is changed forever. Because the Alpha King of the planet, Blazell Roughshire, is Talon’s mate. And before the two men can even settle into their new relationship they must deal with conspiracy, murder, kidnapping and a centuries old plot to completely eradicate the human race.

Will Blaze be able to keep his mate safe from those who would see him dead? Is Tal truly the only one left from his family who can fulfill this centuries old prophecy? And can Tal, who has made it a point to never fall in love with anyone, open his heart and let Blaze be Passion’s hero?

Warning: This book contains references to abuse, rape, torture, and violence. It also contains hot sex between a young man with an affinity for celebrities that may sound familiar to you and his hot possessive Alpha mate. This is a R&P Whips & Chains novel which means the story contains BDSM elements. BDSM is a Lifestyle and while certain elements of it are not dangerous, please do not engage in any part of the BDSM Lifestyle without a trained professional on-hand.(This is a re-edited, re-published novel. The publisher has been changed. Over 22,500 words have been added to the original)

Add to GoodReads

BuyTheBook

Amazon
Amazon UK
Amazon CA
Kobo

AuthorInterview

Do you name your books before or after you write them? How about the synopsis?

Some of my books I know the name for as soon as I start. Some of them I don’t have the name for until after I get the first 5k words written. Some of them aren’t named until I save them the first time, but that’s only happened once (The Beginning-Sons of Adam, 1). With the synopsis, I usually get an idea for a book, or a scene will play out in my head and I’ll sit down and start writing. Sometimes I’ll write 1500 words, sometimes it’s more (Daddy’s Boy I wrote 3,000 words the first time, I sat down to write it) and when I finish I’ll know in what direction the book is headed and then I’ll write the synopsis for the book (or even the series) and save it in my WIP folder.

Do you read books? What genre is your favorite?

Of course! I don’t think you could be a good author without being able to read and hone your craft better. Someone who is a doctor doesn’t just always practice medicine without attending lectures, reading up on new procedures, attending new classes, and practicing.

I don’t know that I have a favorite genre. Just like with my writing I love them all. I do grow annoyed with some of them at some points and I’ll have to stop reading them and move on to another genre for a bit (there was one point where I was like “If I read about ONE MORE G-DDAMN MISUNDERSTANDING IN A CONTEMPORARY I’M GOING TO PULL MY HAIR OUT!” Then I realized it wasn’t the authors fault, it was just that my reading palette had grown stale and I needed to refresh it. So, just as if I were at a wine tasting, I rinsed my mouth, and moved on to paranormal for a time. When I came back to contemporary later my brain was ready for it again.)

What is one tip that you wish someone had told you?

The words “that” and “be” are evil. According to my editors I use them a lot. They’ll all probably jump on here and say “yes.” I’m waiting for them to shout out a chorus of “YOU REALLY DO, VICKTOR!” Other than that? Keep writing outside of the lines and out of the box. It’s going to make people uncomfortable and annoy people, but pushing people to their limits is what I do best. LOL.

What is one thing not included in your bio? Something random that most people don’t know about you?

Every year, starting December 1st until 11:59pm on December 31st I watch Christmas movies… religiously. Every day. Without fail. I may be a Messianic Jew, but I love myself some Christmas movies.

If you couldn’t write in the genre you normally write in, what genre would you chose?

I actually have a number of different pennames that I am going to be writing under for different genres (I already have it planned out. LOL), so if I weren’t writing M/M romance and fiction, I think I’d probably be writing Horror/Thriller, Sci-fi, or Historical Fiction. So probably General Fiction just to encompass them all.

Do you have any special rituals/habits that you do when you write?

I always have music playing in the background when I write. It’s soft because of my screenreader, but it plays in my headset. I also have my cigarettes sitting next to me on the table, a cup of coffee, my medication. And before I start writing I have to put on my rainbow rings. And I have just acknowledged that I don’t have OCS (Obsessive Compulsive Situation) it’s a full-on disorder (thanks Taylor Law) and the rings have to be put on in a certain order, the left on first and then the right one, and they have to be on before I even set foot out the door to set up my laptop. I usually check my email, Facebook, Twitter, etc. and I put up my #VicsMorningSong video (that’s whatever song is playing in my head when I wake up) and once I do that, then I can start writing.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything about your latest book?

Well, the first time I wrote The Alpha King I sent it to my friend, Angel, who told me to get rid of a lot of it. What he told me to get rid of ended up being over 20k words. I don’t know how that would have changed the book from what it is now. But other than that, no. I love how it is. I love what I’ve made it into. With the re-release of the book, I added 22,500 words and added the scenes I wanted to add the first time around, and I think it really gives readers that insight into the characters, and the relationships that they were looking for the first time.

Do you have anything specific to say to your readers?

THANK YOU! My readers know that I don’t call them fans, because for me, personally, that puts me and them on a level that I’m uncomfortable with, so, calling them readers, is perfect. Thank you all, so much for your constant support of my work. From the rough work of Unthinkable (and yes, I’m re-writing the first 4 books of the Tate Pack series, don’t worry, that’s happening soon) all the way to alternative historical world of Groom Of Convenience, and now to the re-release of The Alpha King, you all have been there with me through it all, offering support, encouragement. You have asked me when books were coming out, teased me about books turning into series, telling me when books made you cry, when they made you think, and when they made you change (those were always my favorite). I love hearing when I’ve pushed you to your limits, and I love it even more when I hear that your limits have been changed because of one of my books. You all rock my face off. I know that I have the greatest readers ever. Thank you so much. And you all know I don’t cry unless my emotional tank overflows, so just know that I feel the feelings on the inside.

Do you ever experience writer’s block? If so, how do you break it?

Sometimes. It depends on why I’m experiencing it. If it’s because I didn’t listen to the characters and wrote what I thought the story needed instead of what they said was going to happen, then I’ll go back and fix the story (It’s You, Then Breathing was one such story. The MCs told me they were into fisting and exhibitionism. I balked and yelled NO! They stopped talking to me for a while. When I went back and fixed it, they went back to talking to me.) If it’s not because of that then I’ll take a break, do some reading, maybe watch television. I’ve actually found that one of the greatest um… laxatives… for my writer’s block is “Torchwood.” If I put on that show, usually within a few episodes I can start writing again. If even that isn’t helping, it can be that other characters are trying to talk. So I’ll open up a blank document and see if someone else is talking. And if that doesn’t work either, I’ll take a nap. One of those things will work.

What’s next for you as a writer?

I’m finishing up The Servant Duchess Of Whitcomb which is the sequel to Groom Of Convenience which released from Dreamspinner Press on October 17th. After that I have a short from MLR Press that I need to write, then Daddy’s Boy for Rooster & Pig Publishing, Inc. needs to be written. But my next release is Delicious Mistake from Totally Bound which is book 3 in the Mistakes series. It’s got some BDSM in it, so it’s definitely something to look forward to.

Quickies…

Dog or Cat? Dog

Favorite Color? Red

Favorite curse word? Fuck (Tastes delicious doesn’t it?)

Short or tall? Tall

Favorite holiday? Thanksgiving (even though I love watching Christmas movies)

Morning or Night? Night

Ninjas or Pirates? Ninjas (Invisible Gaylord Ninja Dom here!)

Teaser

TAK600x600Banner

Excerpt

“Where the hell are my clothes? More than that. Where the hell is my sister?” Talon yelled, pulling the bedcovers up to his chin.

Blazell laughed heartily, not at all deterred by his mate’s little freak-out. “Your clothes were destroyed in your accident, my love. I took the liberty of removing the hospital gown you wore when I brought you here to our bedroom,” he stated with amusement.

“Our bedroom?” Talon questioned in a small, hesitant voice, quivering with fear and shock. “Yes, love, our bedroom. Where we will sleep and make love, more so the latter than the former.” He didn’t know how to respond about the man’s sister. He hadn’t heard anything about there being anyone else found at the crash. He would fully admit he was being rather selfish at the moment and only wanted to focus on his mate’s well-being and Talon’s sudden appearance in his life. Once they were fully bonded, Blazell would look into Talon’s missing sister. Blazell knew that made him an asshole, but, at the moment, he couldn’t bring himself and his wolf to feel ashamed.

Talon shook his head in bewilderment. “But you don’t even know me, and I certainly don’t know you!”

“My soul knows yours, my heart embraces yours, and my life and I were made for you as yours was made for me. I know you in the deepest parts of me, even though my mind may not,” Blazell declared. “You were made for me,” he said as he placed his hands on either side of his mate’s face, his thumbs delicately caressing Talon’s cheeks. “As I was made for you.”

AuthorBio

Vicktor “Vic” Alexander wrote his first story at the age of ten and hasn’t stopped writing since. He loves reading about anything and everything and is a proud member of the little known U.N. group (Undercover Nerds) because while he lives, eats, breathes, and sleeps sports, he also breathes history and science fiction and grew up a Trekkie. But don’t ask him about Dungeons & Dragons, because he has no idea how to play that game. When it comes to writing he loves everything from paranormal to contemporary to fantasy to historical and is known not only for being the Epilogue King but also for writing stories that cross lines and boundaries that he doesn’t know are there. Vic is a proud father of two daughters one of whom watches over him from Heaven with his deceased partner Christopher. Vic is a proud trans* and gay man, and when he is not writing, he is hanging out with his friends, or being distracted by videos of John Barrowman, Scott Hoying, and Shemar Moore. Vicktor has published numerous bestselling novels and has a WIP list that makes him exhausted just thinking about. He knows that he will be still be writing about hot men falling in love with each other, long after he is living in an assisted living facility, flirting with the hot, male nurses.

SocialLinks

Facebook
Twitter
Author’s Website
Author’s GoodRead Page

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter

Leave a Reply

