5 Stars for Nights Like These by Chris Scully (Author Interview) – #MM #Officer

1.3

Title: Nights Like These
Author Name: Chris Scully
Publication Date & Length: January 26, 2015 – 200 pgs

Synopsis

Starting over sucks. At forty, Miles Koprowski thought he had life all figured out. He had a nice car, a hot young lover, and a cushy job… and then he didn’t. Call it fate, or karma, or a downturn in the market, but this opinionated cynic is now forced to play rent-a-cop in a dying office building in the burbs just to make ends meet. Throw in an unhinged ex, a coworker who hates him, and a hot new boss, and suddenly everything is uncertain.

Miles doesn’t plan on liking the night shift or becoming embroiled in a mystery that reawakens old passions and puts him in danger. And he certainly doesn’t plan on falling for the overbearing head of security, Colton Decker, former soldier and doting dad. But nights like these can change a man, make him start to believe there’s more to life than a high-paying job and a warm body in his bed. With a thief on the loose and his new job in jeopardy, Miles will have to decide what’s truly important. He might discover things he never knew he wanted… as long as he makes it through the night.

Add to GoodReads

Review

FiveStars

This was a very sweet story, it was a intriguing sort of mystery that kept you interested from the beginning. It wasn’t  just your normal love story it had a plot that pulled you in and had you wondering which one did it.

I thought Colton and Miles were perfect characters.  I loved how Miles loved to talk back without thinking first.  Colton or Mr. Perfect, as Miles called him, enjoyed the playful banter back and forth.  The part that had me laughing was when Haley was telling Miles to not hurt her dad and to make sure he called him.  A teenager giving dating advice, it fit so well in the story.

The writing was so very descriptive and it made it so easy to visualize the scenes.
A lighthearted romance that was very enjoyable to read.

Sherry

BuyTheBook

Amazon
Amazon UK
Amazon CA

Teaser

NLT600x600Banner

Excerpt

“Why don’t you watch where you’re going, dumb—” I managed to sputter before my mouth stopped working entirely and dropped open. The ability to speak, to think, deserted me at the first sight of the hunky stranger standing in front of me, his face contorted with apology as he tried to mop up my sodden jacket with a handful of napkins. He was a few inches taller than me—closer to six feet—and on the stocky side. His broad shoulders filled out a nicely tailored suit, and he projected an air of confidence that I’d never be able to pull off in a million years. He was clean-shaven too, with a dark buzz cut that made me long to run a hand over his head simply to feel the texture. And gorgeous. Did I happen to mention that?

In short, he was the kind of guy you’d want to be stranded with on a deserted island; the kind you could count on to save you. If you were so inclined. Me? I didn’t need saving.

A pair of friendly, light-colored eyes now stared back at me, bemused. Odd that his lips were moving, but no sound was coming out.

“What?” I asked, blinking back to attention. I couldn’t remember the last time anyone had literally made me speechless. Me, Miles Koprowski, who never met a silence he didn’t want to fill.

Hell, I couldn’t recall the last time I’d been on the receiving end of a full-body pat-down either. At least not so quickly. His hands were still drifting over my chest, wiping up the last drips of coffee, and the simple touch was doing alarming things to my heart rate.

“Are you okay?” he demanded. “Did you get burned?” Before I could react, he seized my wrist and held my hand up for inspection. Strong, lightly calloused fingers, I added to my mental list. Working hands. Dumbly, I looked down. The skin on the back of my right hand was red and stung like a son of a bitch, but it wasn’t blistering. I did flinch slightly when he skimmed his thumb over the sensitive area, but not from pain, more from the touch itself. My entire body lit up, as though I’d stuck a finger in an electrical socket. “It doesn’t look too bad. I think you’ll live. Put some aloe on it when you get home.”

“Doctor?” I croaked, because really, that would be too perfect.

“Nope. Just seen a lot of injuries.” His lips twitched with barely contained amusement. “Sorry to disappoint you.” Sense of humor, check.

AuthorInterview

1)      Is there anything that you wish you could change about your book now that it is out?

Sigh. Yes. I’m one of these self-critical people who sees flaws everywhere. I recently did another re-read and of course improvements jumped out at me. But don’t worry–there’s nothing major I would change in terms of the overall story, characters or plotting. Mostly it’s just tweaking phrases, or wording I’m not completely happy with. New lines of dialogue always occur to me when it’s too late, darn it. I would be rearranging words right until the very end if I could.

There’s a lot of sexy banter and some, ahem, promises, thrown around in Nights Like These, and the one repeated comment I’m seeing so far is readers who wish Miles had delivered on his “promise” to Colton. I can understand that, even though I think it’s still plenty hot as it is. There are readers who expect anal sex in a gay romance. But you know what? I still wouldn’t change it. For one thing, I don’t think Miles is done giving Colton a run for his money and is ready to give in so easily (after all, in terms of timeline the story takes place over 1 week); for another, I always like to leave things hanging a little.

2)      How do you come up with new ideas for your story?

There is no rhyme or reason to it.I’m interested in writing all sorts of different styles, so sometimes it’s an idea for a character that kicks things off. Sometimes it a particular scene. Other times it might be something I read or hear about. Nights Like These was definitely inspired by by own experiences in the corporate world and being laid off (fortunately I wasn’t in as dire straits as Miles). My next novel, Until September started off with a character (inspired by a young man on my bus route) and then evolved because of things in the news. I have a collection of scraps of paper on which I’ve written down ideas as they strike me. When I’m ready to start something new, I pull them out and see which one(s) appeal to me.

3)      What’s next for you as a writer?

For now I’m concentrating on finishing my latest project and also getting another novel to publication (Until September). That should take me through most of 2015 at my current pace. After that, I’d like to target one book a year. Yes, that’s low compared to my peers, but it’s what I think I can comfortably manage and work full-time.

Eventually I’d like to move more into the gay fiction area—that is, fiction where the main character happens to be gay. I like to try new things, and I have a couple of ideas for romantic thrillers. That’s probably where I’ll focus for my next new project. They will definitely still have a romance angle, because I’m a born romantic, but they just won’t be as emotional and introspective as some of the other things I’ve done.

4)   Do you think where you live influences how or what you write? How or Why?

Definitely. Living in a large, progressive, multicultural city like Toronto (where same-sex marriage has been legal for over a decade) definitely has an influence. I was born and raised here, and although I did spend some time away, I wouldn’t trade it for anywhere else. The more I travel and understand the world, the more I appreciate it. I find I’m not so focused on things like intolerance and stigma in my writing, because for me, and the generations behind me, that is becoming less and less of an issue. I think my characters are much more accepting of themselves. As are their families and friends. Their sexuality is not the key focus of my stories. I’ve always been hesitant to set my stories in Toronto; in mainstream romance settings are often limited to the US or UK, but what I like about this genre is the acceptance of all sorts of settings. Nights Like These is my first story where Toronto actually features prominently.

5)      What is your favorite genre outside of the one you write in? Why?

That’s tough. I’m an avid reader across most genres, and what I read depends on my mood. Lately my preference has leaned towards thrillers (Stephen King’s Mr. Mercedes and Gillian Flynn’s Dark Places are standouts)–primarily because of the lack of emotion and sentimentality in them. The more time I spend writing romance, the more I want something completely different when I’m reading. I don’t want to be caught up in an emotional wringer because I get enough of that with my own writing. No matter what I’m reading, I still try to take something away that I can apply to my own writing, whether it’s character development, pacing or literary style.

AuthorBio

Chris Scully is a die-hard romantic, a lover of good books, hot men and eighties music. She discovered M/M romance far too many years ago and immediately became an avid reader. Now, trapped in a minuscule cubicle for eight hours a day, this IT professional loves to indulge in the [not so] occasional daydream—and finally gets the chance to commit some of them to paper.

SocialLinks

Facebook
Author’s Website
Author’s GoodRead Page

Leave a Reply

