5 and 3 Stars for Twisted Lives by Ali Spooner – #FF #Romance #Standalone

1.3

Title: Twisted Lives
Author Name: Ali Spooner
Publication Date & Length: September 14, 2014 – 230 pgs

Synopsis

A twist of fate leaves Bet and her daughter Kylie stranded at the entrance of the home of Alex Graves, as she flees the control of an abusive husband.
When custom–homebuilder Alex arrives to find steam boiling from Bet’s car and a beautiful child asleep in the passenger seat, her heart goes out to them.
Alex offers shelter to the pair setting off a chain of events that bring both mother and daughter close to her heart and danger to her door.
A heartwarming story of true love that will keep you smiling long after you’ve finished the book.

Add to GoodReads

Review

FiveStars

I love Bet because despite having been in a bad, abusive relationship, she had not given up on love or people. She is determined to give her daughter a better life full of love and happiness.
I love Alex because she gets an idea of what she wants and goes for it. And she seems to always find the good in situations.
This is a great book that will take you on a emotional roller coaster. It will draw you in from the moment you start reading and have you laughing and crying.
I couldn’t help but fall in love with this book. From the small town setting, where everyone pulls together when there is trouble. To the boss lady with a heart of gold, and a soft spot for kids and animals.

Amber

ThreeStar

The book started out believable with a woman, Alex, who is described as a tough boss who owns her own business.  I was even fine with the woman, Bet, and her daughter running away from an abusive relationship with her husband and her car breaking down near Alex’s house.

What was not believable to me was the whirl wind romance between the women that happened in a matter of days.  Then the daughter begins calling Alex’s house her home.  It seemed too fairy tale like for me.

Then there is the looming figure of the abusive spouse who finds Bet and his daughter and wants to bring them home to him where they “belong”.  That added an interesting twist to the story and was one I was not expecting.

If you are looking for a love-at-first sight story, this is for you.

Angela

BuyTheBook

Amazon
Amazon UK
Amazon CA
Barnes & Noble
Kobo

AuthorBio

I am a native Floridian who is temporarily (I hope) displaced in Memphis, TN. for work purposes, however I hope to make it home to a partner of 17 years and our family as quickly as I can. I enjoy photography as a hobby along with spinning a good tale.

I am American by birth and Southern by the Grace of God. LOL I enjoy writing about the south and creating characters and events that I hope my readers enjoy as much as I have in creating them.

SocialLinks

Facebook
Author’s GoodRead Page

Leave a Reply

