3.5 Stars for Bare Threads (Saving Liam #4) by DP Denman (Author Interview!) – #MM #Romance #AuthorInterview @dpdenman

SmallBareThreads_1800x2700HiRes

Title: Bare Threads (Saving Liam #4)
Author Name: DP Denman
Publication Date & Length: February 2, 2015 – 221 pgs

Synopsis

Liam is not a family man. He’s learned to avoid the entanglement and its mire of expectations; expectations he’s destined to crush. Unfortunately, his usually placid boyfriend is pushing him into the arms of his new family and he’s fighting every step. When a person he never expected to see again reappears, Liam finds a reason to make a few concessions for the sake of real love and the only man he is willing to call family.

Add to GoodReads

Review

ThreeandHalfStars

This was the first of the four books in this series, but I do feel like it did fall into the category of a standalone. However, some of what made the book lacking to me could be because I didn’t have all of the back story to go with it. I can’t really say for sure.
Liam is a go-go boy (whatever that is) and even after reading the book I’m still not entirely sure… he does pretty much what I know a stripper to do except go full nude. He does private dances, floor time and even walks the runway. Besides that part of it confusing me, I actually liked Liam. He had a hard life. He was kicked out by his parents and was used and abused in various ways during his youth. At some point he met Justin, who saved him.
Justin feels that after two years he is ready to marry Liam. However, Liam is against it as is Justin’s family.
As much as the synopsis made it seem like this was the main basis of the story, there is much more that goes on. Like finding out that the people who own the company’s business aren’t who Liam thought they were, which drags up part of his past. Along with a spattering of stories about side characters and their achievements and relationships. And what Liam is going to do when Justin is unexpected moved at his job.
While I actually enjoyed the style of writing, I felt like the story itself left much to be desired. It just didn’t captivate me. I didn’t find anything particularly exciting about the story line as I saw most of the curves coming before they happened. Well, except the unexpected visitor, but although I’m sure the people who’ve read along since book one found it interesting, I found not to be as impactful as it was to Liam. I knew from the start he would do what he ended up doing at the end.
However, I would read this author again since I did find her style clean and well thoughtout. Again, it could’ve been because I jumped in book 4 in the series and lacked the connection that was already established in the previous books, but it was tagged as a standalone so I thought it would be okay.
Renee

BuyTheBook

Amazon
Amazon UK
Amazon CA

Teaser

BT600x600Banner

AuthorInterview

1)      Can you describe in detail what your writing environment is like?

My writing space is a spare bedroom with a corner desk constantly inching toward pigsty status. Half the room is my office. Half belongs to my furbabies and their warm, fuzzy beds. The theory is if I provide enough comfortable places for them to sleep, the cats won’t feel it necessary to nap on top of my hands while I’m trying to write. The one currently stretching out across the keyboard makes it obvious the theory has flaws.

2)      Is there one of your characters that you relate to (from any of your works)? Why?

I can relate to all my characters on some level, but there isn’t one that really tells my story. I know what it is to be an outcast. I know that moment of clarity when you realize love is conditional on your behavior, attitude, level of conformity. Several of my characters come from that same situation so in that respect we understand each other quite well.

3)      If you couldn’t be an author, what would you do instead?

If I could pick any career I would be an explosives expert and blow things up for Hollywood! I’d be the person with their finger on the button, turning a set that took weeks to build into a flaming pile of splinters.

4)      Is there anything that you learned during the writing process that you wish you had known before hand?

I take craft courses on a regular basis so I’m always learning how to do things better. I would love to have done a few things differently on that first book because it would have made the story a better experience for the readers. I think that’s the nature of writing, though. Even NYT best sellers need to improve as authors and make each book a little better than the last. There’s no such thing as tenure in this business. You either continue to put in the effort you did in the beginning or you lose readers to someone who does.

Rumor has it, Dean Koontz reads each page of his manuscript 40 times before it goes to print, looking for ways to improve it. That’s why he is where he is. He earned that spot and continues to earn it with every story. I’m learning to adopt the same attitude. A good story can always be better and when people are dipping into their limited budgets to buy the book they deserve a better story.

5)      Is there anything that you wish you could change about your book now that it is out?

I don’t think so…but then it’s early yet. Some of the reviews might change my mind. LOL. I like the way Liam and Justin’s story closed. I suppose I could have dragged it out for a few more books but I make it a point to write until I can clearly see the Happily Ever After and then leave it. It’s too easy for the series to get stale if you stick with the story too long. If all that’s left to write are minor spats about who hung the toilet paper the wrong way and someone forgetting an anniversary, it’s time to shift focus to something new.

AuthorBio

Award winning author DP Denman writes character-driven contemporary romance about gay men. Her stories are real and intense, but resolve in endings that make people want to read the book all over again. She is from the Pacific Northwest and bases all of her stories in Vancouver, British Columbia.

In her spare time, she is a dedicated LGBTQIA rights activist, fighting for those who have been marginalized and abused. To that end, 25% of the royalties from every book go to support LGBT charities.

SocialLinks

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
Author’s GoodRead Page

Leave a Reply

