3.5 and 3 Stars for Opening Day by Alexis Wood – #MM #Erotic

1.3

Title: Opening Day (Southern Jersey Shores #1)
Author Name: Alexis Woods
Publication Date & Length: March 1, 2015 – 48pgs

Synopsis

When pharmacy manager, Aaron Lark, known to his best friends as Ace, is dumped by his latest boyfriend, he decides to step back from the dating scene. What he doesn’t expect is for the blue-eyed pharmacist, Darren Goldman, to step into, and rock, his world. Bonding over beer, brownies and baseball, Ace and Darren play a game where hopefully both end up crossing home plate as winners.

WARNING: this story contains sex acts between consenting male adults.

Add to GoodReads

Review

ThreeandHalfStars

This is my first time reading Alexis Woods. When I read the synopsis, I chose to read this because I was looking for something short, and a naughty fix, so to speak!

Aaron, is a manager of a pharmacy and dealing with the disappointment of a recent breakup.

Darren, is filling in for a pharmacist at Aaron’s pharmacy.

When Aaron and Darren meet the first time, you feel an attraction through the pages. I loved that the author included chapter headings that refer to baseball. The author definitely has a way with naughty words and this was fun, sexy, quick read!

However, I didn’t particularly care for the rhyming names or that there seemed to be more sex than plot.

Reviewer: Kimberley

ThreeStar

This is the story of Ace, a pharmacy manager.  When we first meet him, he is bemoaning a string of regrettable relationships and relying heavily on his friends for support.

It is also the story of Darren, a temporary pharmacist working in his store.

This is a simple, gentle romance.  The men meet and date at Ace’s friends’ pub.  They enjoy watching baseball together.

And then it ends.  Abruptly.  I don’t want to spoil the ending because it left me in a bit of a muddle.  I still haven’t decided how I feel about it.  It was funny – funny how?  I’m not sure.

And so the three stars. It was almost as if two different stories had been tacked together.  I liked both the men, I liked the writing style.  I liked the way the plot felt natural.  I liked Ace’s friends.

I just remain completely bamboozled by the ending.

Sarah

BuyTheBook

Amazon
Amazon UK
Amazon CA
Kobo

AuthorBio

Starlight and Constellation: Gemini is “out of the closet,” free, and ready for reading.

Alexis Woods is the pen name of Alexis of Woods End, mundanely known as Alicia Mattson. You can find my reviews and book lists here.

I’m an: Author/Anachronist, Beta, Coffee Lover, Daughter/Dancer, Friend/Fighter, Jewish, Khazar, Lover/Leader, Mother/Medieval, Novice, Opinionated, Pharmacist, Romantic/Reenactor, Sister/Scout, Traveler, Visionary, Wife

Always an avid reader and colorful dreamer, it was only a matter of time before taking pen to paper, oftentimes literally. A firm believer in every song tells a story and every story has a song, I sing under my breath, tap my toes and swing my hips, much to the delight of my co-workers and friends. I freely admit that becoming a romance author is the best mid-life crisis a girl could ever have.

Leave a Reply

