Author Interview with Sara Daniels @SSaraDaniel

Spanks-Lovespanks-2015-wnames-Amazon

  • Can you describe in detail what your writing environment is like?

I also do a lot of writing on a big comfy chair looking out my front window. When the weather is nice, I love to write outside—on a not-so-comfy chair by my front door or in a lawn chair at a nearby forest preserve. If I can’t be outside, a seat in front of a window is a MUST. I do a lot of staring outside while my mind is churning!

  • Is there one of your characters that you relate to (from any of your works)? Why?

I can definitely relate to Sadie from The Briefcase. She wants to be a good, conscientious employee and do what’s expected of her, while she also needs to take care of her family. She worries that she’ll fail the expectations set for her and doesn’t want to disappoint anyone. Yep, that was me in my teens and twenties!

  • If you couldn’t be an author, what would you do instead?

Well, I got my degree in accounting, so I’d probably fall back on that, but it definitely wouldn’t fill the void. In fact, working such an analytical job would have my creative side desperate to burst out. If I couldn’t write, maybe I’d try something like website design. I could channel my creativity into the layout and design, and I could continue working from home on my own which I love!

  • Is there anything that you learned during the writing process that you wish you had known before hand?

The Briefcase was my first F/F story, and the most difficult change I found from writing M/F was the pronoun usage. I could no longer use he or she in place of names and be assured that the reader would instantly know which character I was referring to.

  • Is there anything that you wish you could change about your book now that it is out?

I may expand it to a longer novella in the future. I think the story has a lot of potential to become more fully developed with more conflict and Rhea’s point of view. But I’m really happy with this anthology version right now.

  • How do you come up with new ideas for your story?

I have always been drawn to relationships and happy endings. Many times a story inspiration comes to me when I hear a situation or read an article with an unsatisfying conclusion, and I want to give those people a better ending. I might not be able to in real life, but I certainly can in fiction.

  • What’s next for you as a writer?

I’m wrapping up my One Night with the Bridal Party series of M/F one-night stand stories. One Night with the Bride, One Night with the Bridesmaid, and One Night with the Groom are currently available. One Night with the Best Man, One Night with Her Husband, and One Night with His Wife will be release in April, May, and June respectively.

  • Where do you live? Do you think this influences how or what you write?

I’m from a small town in Illinois, so I don’t think it’s a surprise that a lot of my books end up being set in small towns in Illinois. Several more of my books are set in Chicago because that’s the urban area I live near, so it definitely influences my writing. I find it easier to write a setting that I have personal knowledge of, even if I create a fictional setting from that base of personal knowledge.

  • What is your favorite genre outside of the one you write in? Why?

Outside of romance, I’ve been enjoying middle grade fantasy series books—Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, and Fablehaven. This is definitely due to my daughter’s influence. Although she’s old enough to read these books on her own, I started reading them aloud to her at bedtime when she was first struggling to read, and we both love the routine too much to stop.

  • Do you have any vices? Shoes, coffee, shopping…etc?

Coffee, red wine, pasta, chocolate. I could come up with more, but that’s enough to incriminate me. J

 

Synopsis Sadie is on a mission to deliver an important briefcase for her boss, Rhea, whom she’s lusted after forever. But an emergency changes Sadie’s plans, and suddenly she is trying to keep a horde of well-meaning friends from prying the briefcase out of her hands. When the shocking contents spill out at the worst possible moment, much more than Sadie’s job is at stake.

Excerpt

“You’re the only person I trust to deliver this without peeking inside,” Rhea said.

Flushing both with desire and embarrassment—had Rhea noticed her gawking?—Sadie snapped her gaze back to the woman’s face. “Of course not. I would never—”

“Good. Because if you do, there will be consequences.” Her regal blue eyes held Sadie captive.

Consequences. The word sent a thrill shivering through her veins. She’d never push Rhea to make good on the threat. But what if those consequence were something other than a reprimand in her personnel file, something physical and, um, personal?

Of course they wouldn’t be. Rhea was a consummate professional and would never consider such a thing, even though the increasing sternness of her tone turned Sadie on more with every word.

Staring at Rhea’s black stilettos, she tried not to give herself away. “I’ll take the briefcase to Mr. Thacker right now.”

“Good girl.” The other woman placed her index finger under Sadie’s chin, raising it until Sadie met her gaze. “When you’re done, take the rest of the day off.”

She stumbled back a step, her chin tingling from the simple touch. “Excuse me?” She’d often been ordered to stay late but never to take off early.

Rhea raised a perfectly arched eyebrow. “You heard me. Today is your birthday, is it not?”

Shocked she remembered the detail, Sadie nodded. But she had no party plans. In fact, she would prefer to return to the office and watch the firm’s star lawyer crank out paperwork. How pathetic was that?

“Consider this your present.” Rhea plunked the briefcase into Sadie’s arms.

BuyTheBook

Amazon
Amazon UK
Amazon CA

AuthorBio Sara Daniel writes what she loves to read—irresistible romance, from sweet to erotic and everything in between. She battles a serious NASCAR addiction, was once a landlord of two uninvited squirrels, and loses her keys at least three times a day.

SocialLinks

Subscribe to Sara’s newsletter: http://eepurl.com/rx_AL

Website: http://www.SaraDaniel.com

Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/SaraDanielSaraShafer

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/SSaraDaniel

Blog: http://saradanielromance.blogspot.com

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/ssaradaniel/

2 thoughts on “Author Interview with Sara Daniels @SSaraDaniel”

  1. Thanks so much for hosting me, Inked Rainbow Reads. You have a great site.

    Ana, you are so sweet. I really enjoyed writing this story and delving into the F/F fiction world. I’m excited to see what the future holds.

    Like

Leave a Reply

